Thursday, July 9, 2009

2009 Buffalo Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

BUFFALO, NY - Join the Buffalo Music Hall of Fame at 7 PM on Thursday, October 8, 2009 at the Tralf Music Hall located at 622 Main Street in Buffalo's Downtown Theatre District for a festive evening of live music and entertainment. Fans and friends are welcome to honor the 2009 Buffalo Music Hall of Fame Inductees, many of whom will perform. Local entertainer and radio personality Rob Lederman will emcee the event. Food and refreshments will be available through the Tralf facilities. Tickets are $20, at all Ticketmaster locations; charge by phone 852-5000, or through the Tralf Box office.

The Buffalo Music Hall of Fame Class of 2009 includes the following:

THE BUFFALO BILLS BARBERSHOP QUARTET - 1950 International Quartet Champions, and famed quartet in the Broadway and film versions of “The Music Man.”

JACK CIVILETTO - Long-time WNY Blues guitarist/vocalist/band leader. Winner of many local music awards and seen around town performing as “Old Blue Eyes.”

GLENN COLTON - Highly regarded, popular children’s entertainer and a veteran of over 300 live shows in schools though out his 25 year career.

HIT n RUN – “Buffalo’s Premier Party Band” brings their high energy and immense local following to the event.

McCARTHYIZM - Alternative Rock Band will take its place in the BMHOF upon earning numerous awards for their original music and presentation.

moe. - Internationally known “jam band” that got its start at Broadway Joe’s.

RAVEN - Legendary 60’s band that established the “Buffalo Sound” that became nationally renowned includes Hall of Fame members Tony Galla, Jim Calire, J R Weitz, Tommy Calandra, and Gary Mallaber.

JERRY RAVEN - Godfather of Buffalo’s Folk Music scene and mentor to countless musicians that include a number of previously inducted BMHOF Members.

JOEY REYNOLDS - “Mr. Nice Guy”, also inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland. Known for his groundbreaking work in radio – in Buffalo and nationally.

DR. LONNIE SMITH – Master of the Hammond B-3. After setting the standard internationally, he returns to confront his humble roots on Buffalo’s East Side and takes his place in the BMHOF.

The Buffalo Music Hall of Fame was founded in 1983 to recognize groups and individuals who have had a significant impact on WNY music and/or have achieved success in the music industry on a national or international scale. The Buffalo Music Hall of Fame annually recognizes these outstanding Western New Yorkers at its annual induction gala.

Bob Silvestri, Chair of the Nominations Committee of the BMHOF notes, “This year’s class ranges from performers who have become internationally renowned to long-time mainstays of local music.” Members of the Buffalo Music Hall of Fame from previous induction classes will be in attendance to honor and induct the Class of 2009.

Co-chairs of the event include Patricia Kirisits and Richie Derwald. For press information contact Rick Mathews, President of the Buffalo Music Hall of Fame at 716-400-8934 or

The Board of Trustees of the Buffalo Music Hall of Fame is seeking new members and those interested in sponsorship opportunities, supporting membership or board membership should contact Rick Mathews 716-400-8934 or email us at:

No comments: